E.Y.E. #1: Cardstock Scraps

Welcome to our first E.Y.E. Challenge!  I’m so happy you’re here – it promises to be a fun and rewarding ride!  I mean, what’s not to love about doing our part for the environment to reduce consumption, complete more layouts AND be inspired along the way!?

As per my last post, due to some flooding issues, I was unable to complete the challenge this week, but one of my new (but actually, old!) design team members is going to be offering up the first challenge.  

I will be introducing all of the team members later this week but please help me welcome Jessi Lute!

Hi everyone!  I’m so excited to be a part of this challenge team!

Cardstock scraps are much overlooked little gems amongst scrapbooking supplies!  I actually find I use my scraps of paper quite a bit so I keep all my paper scraps in a basket on my desk so they are on hand when I need them.

What can you do with cardstock scraps? Well you can punch them, ink them, cut them, stamp them – the list is quite endless!  They become hand crafted and custom borders, embellishments, tags, etc.

Your first challenge is to take all those bits of cardstock that you have been gathering, hoarding (we know you’re hoarding, don’t even try and deny it!) and saving, thinking…”There’s got to be some way I can use this, on some layout some day… “. Well someday is here! Pull them out and let’s see what you can create using cardstock scraps at least 5 different ways…we challenge you!

Here’s my project:

2014jul17_jluteSupplies used:  Bazzill Basics card stock; Just Cre8 stamp (Merry Go Round-and-Round); Close To My Heart stamp; unknown sunflower stamp; Fiskars, EK Success and Martha Stewart punches; Versacolour chalk inks; Glimmer Mist spray ink; October Afternoon alpha stickers.

To create my layout, I used scraps of card stock in a variety of ways!  To create the background, I sprayed Glimmer Mist over cardstock scraps, then removed the scraps (to use on another project).

To create the layered bordered effect, I tore a strip of cardstock, used a border punch on another strip, and handcut a scalloped edge on a third.  I used punches to also add detail to a cardstock block, as well as to create embellishments.

I matted my photo with cardstock and punched a photo corner.  I also hand stamped on cardstock to create a journaling spot and used a bit of leftover cardstock to create a tag.

And there you have it – a layout created using nothing but cardstock to create layers, depth and dimension!

Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

Jessi

Thanks, Jessi – beautiful layout!!

We hope you’ll play along with our first challenge – if you’d like to participate for the monthly draw, please add a link to your project below using inlinkz  below!

Cheers!

signature

12 thoughts on “E.Y.E. #1: Cardstock Scraps

  1. Here’s my double page layout. I punched the white matt using a Super 8 punch. The butterflies were made with ink through a stencil. I printed the “awesomeness” with my laser printer. The “purple” was die cut with a Sizzix alpha. I stamped the journal lines and then wrote my journaling. The border strips were punched with an EK Success punch. Thank for the challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think about this!

