EYE#9 | Mist-y EYE’d

Hello everyone, it’s Holly here and I’m excited to be bringing you this week’s EYE challenge.

September and the back to school season always feels like a fresh start to me.   Do you remember all those school supplies, the feeling of a brand new pack of looseleaf paper and the look of just-sharpened pencil crayons all lined up? That’s what I think of when I hear the word September. It makes me excited to think about pulling out some supplies of my own and get crafting!

This week, I challenge you to use some of those pretty colours of mist you have hanging around. Mists are so much fun and there are a ton of ways to use mists in your scrapbooking. I’ve created some pages using misting to give you some ideas and inspiration. Here’s the first one.

sep7_ha4

Supplies used: My Mind’s Eye and Maggie Holmes for American Crafts patterned papers; Tattered Angels and Heidi Swapp mists; American Crafts Thickers; Basic Grey banner; K & Company die cut; American Crafts flair; Dear Lizzy for American Crafts date stamp.

For this page, I used a stencil to create a pattern on a piece of cardstock. After placing the stencil on the page, I misted in two different colours – a darker colour around the edge of the page, and a lighter colour inside.

sep7_ha2

One great technique you can use to extend your mist is using the misted stencil as a mask for another page. Once I misted the stencil on one piece of cardstock, I flipped over the stencil (so that the misted side was facing down) and then I placed it on another piece of cardstock.

sep7_ha3Now I have another page background ready to go!

Here are a few great ideas for using misting on your pages:

  • Create a background for your layout by misting some, most or all of your cardstock or patterned paper
  • Spritz mist onto resist paper to easily create fun patterned paper
  • Use a stencil or mask to create a pattern on your page
  • Mist along the top of your page in various colours and then hold your page up vertically so that the colours drip, creating a beautiful design
  • There are many techniques on Youtube, including misting cardstock and letting it dry with rumpled tissue paper resting on top, splattering your page using a toothbrush. Check it out!

Resist cardstock is another great product out there for misting. In this layout, I misted the background with glimmer mist, then wiped away the excess. The result is a fun geometric pattern.

sep7_ha5

Supplies used: Heidi Swapp, Stampin’ Up and Maggie Holmes for American Crafts patterned papers; Tattered Angels mists; Basic Grey black and mini letters, American Craft Thickers glitter title; Stampin’ Up and Maya Road ribbon; EK Success, My Mind’s Eye and Scotch washi tape; Die cut with a View sticker; Heidi Swapp sheer sticker and heart; Recollections camera; Studio calico geotag; Dollarama pearls and rhinestones; American Crafts flair.

Here’s one more layout I created using misting techniques.

sep7_ha7

Supplies used: Tim Holtz and IOD for Prima patterned papers; Heidi Swapp, Mister Huey by Studio Calico and Maya Road mists; Maya Road ribbon; Heidi Swapp, Prima and Maya Road flowers; Dollarama pearl; Tim Holtz sticker words and button; Fancy Pants and Me and My Big Ideas embellishments.

For this page, after misting my background in two different colours that meet in the middle of the page, I used a toothbrush to splatter two darker colour of mist as an accent around the page. I also misted a canvas flower in a light colour of cardstock to use as an embellishment on the page.

sep7_ha6

Well, I hope that’s given you some ideas for misting. I can’t wait to see your creations.

~ Holly ~

4 thoughts on “EYE#9 | Mist-y EYE’d

  1. Three seriously great layouts, Holly! Thanks for all the inspiration. I’m diggin’ the background you created and the off-print for the second background looks very nice. Always great photos. Alicia looks so grown up … love the perspective. The Hog is just adorable. The colours work very nicely with the photo. Bravo!!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think about this!

