EYE#10: Washi-ed Up

Happy Sunday,everyone and welcome to another E.Y.E.challenge!

When I think of excess supplies, my first thought is always either patterned paper or ribbon (I have plenty of both!). But In the last year, I have outgrown my washi tape storage three times!! I now have them all in a 2 gallon jar. With room to grow, because let’s be honest… I will probably buy more!

So today, I am challenging you to use your washi tape! Use at least five different patterns and create a project!

I created this card, using washi tape for the background. Inspired by Tamara Jensen’s project on the MME’s blog), I used eight different patterns in shades of red, yellow and black and created a chevron background.

IMG_0037 Supplies used:  Bazzill Basics Paper and Canadian Scrapbooker Super Stock; Recollections, K & Company and unknown washi tapes; Silhouette Cameo die cutting machine; Karla Dudley cut file; My Favourite Things die (rosette); The Twinery twine; Glue Dots; pinking shears; button.

I added a strip of coordinating washi tape to card stock before cutting out the rosette die.  I then trimmed the edge with pinking shears before folding and assembling the rosette!

The title was cut from black and white card stock and then layered, offset slightly, to create the shadow  effect.

Here are a few examples of other uses:

teaparty

Use in place of patterned papers (see supply list here)

20120813_0002

Use to cover edges on a home decor project (see here for more details)

Here are a few ideas on how to use washi tape on your project:

  • Cover chipboard accents with tape
  • Use tape as a hinge to cover hidden journaling or to add more photos
  • Apply tape to card stock and punch out shapes
  • Fold tape over string or around toothpicks to create banners and flags

There are a lot of other ways, too – I can’t wait to see what you come up with!  Be sure to leave a link to your project in your comment to share – at the end of the month, I will send someone a new copy of the Fall 2014 issue of Canadian Scrapbooker magazine and some goodies!

signature

One thought on “EYE#10: Washi-ed Up

I'd love to hear what you think about this!

