Challenge 15 | DT Reveal

Here is my layout featuring rubons from seven different manufacturers. Can you find them all?

oct21ha1
Supply list: Bazzil cardstock; Fancy Pants and American Crafts patterned paper; Sassafrass Lass letter stickers; Heidi Swapp chipboard heart, circle stickers and transparent phrases; Studio Calico chipboard geotags; Making Memories tag; Michaels ribbon; Rubons by Hambly, Studio Calico, K and Company, Doodlebug, American Crafts, My Mind’s Eye and Colorbok.

This challenge was a lot of fun, and if you haven’t tried it yet, I encourage you to do so! I also really want to send a big “thank you!” out to Jessi for creating this challenge, because it really drove home the concept of using your stash for me. I’ve been hanging onto the gold Hambly rubons that I used on this page for a long time. They were just too pretty, so I was saving them for when I had the perfect idea for the most wonderful page using all of my most special supplies. Before I knew it, these gorgeous rubons had sat in my stash for far too long – probably five years at least!

Well, we all know what happens to rub ons when they get too old, don’t we? They just won’t stick. Some rubons will stay on their backing no matter how hard you rub, and won’t come off. These rubons didn’t do that. Instead, they flaked off at the slightest touch or impact. There was just no way they would adhere to paper. But by the time I determined this, I had already planned the whole layout with these rubons as one of the focal points. Hmmm, what to do?

In keeping with the concept of exhausting my excess, I decided to use them anyway. I cut them out as if they were vellum die cuts. Although in a few places this is a bit more apparent than I would like, the biggest section is reasonably convincing! I’m happy with how it turned out.

oct21ha2

So let this be a lesson to you – USE those rubons!

Thanks for looking!
~* Holly *~

I'd love to hear what you think about this!

