EYE#16 | Border It Black

Hello! It’s Amanda here and I’d like to share another idea for Exhausting Your Excess in your scrap stash. :)

A few years ago, someone went to a scrapbooking convention where they were blowing away cardstock. I received an unexpected phone call in the middle of the day that went something like this:

**Ring! Ring!**
Me: “Hello?”
My mom: “What color do you want??”
Me: “Pardon me?”
Mom: “What colour? Hurry!”
Me: “What colour what?”
Mom: “Cardstock – they’re blowing it away and I’m bringing you a bunch – hurry up, what colour?”

I love deals just as much as anyone, but I was a tad surprised when my mom came home with her bounty from the sale that weekend. I asked her to bring me black and white (because those are the staple colours, right?) but I was now the owner of a four inch stack of cardstock – in both black AND white.

Oh my. That’s a lot of paper. Especially all in one colour.

So, I have a serious excess of black cardstock. In fact, I’m not sure I will ever need to purchase that colour ever again. The GREAT thing about it is that you can use it anywhere!

One of the things I love to do on my pages is use black cardstock for photo mats and borders. You can use it to separate patterned papers and page elements too – it just makes everything POP!

Here are some different ways that I’ve “Bordered It Black” to make the elements on my layout catch your eye.

card1

layout1

layout1-a

layout2

layout2-b

So, go ahead – I challenge you to “Border It Black” — you will be glad you did!

~* Amanda *~

I'd love to hear what you think about this!

